yahoo-buys-tumblr-01-630x420A few weeks ago I shared my opinions in my business ethics class on Yahoo!’s CEO and her seeming lack of consideration for many other people, namely women and mothers. Being an accounting and student at UMand aspiring to one day be in a role such as Yahoo! CEO Marissa Mayer, I felt personally affected by some of the decisions that she has made since being named Chief Executive Officer.

I still believe that the glass ceiling exists and that this is largely a man’s world, so when a woman is put in a place of power and authority I whole-heartedly believe that woman should want to pave a way for more women to come behind her, which is why Mrs. Mayer upset me so much. From what I understood, she had a nursery built right next to her office while taking away certain benefits for other working parents, such as the ability to work remotely.

I thought that it was a great idea to create a space for your child at your place of work, because let’s face it, who wouldn’t want their children right next to them all day? (OK some of us wouldn’t…no judgement) But, felt like plenty of parents go through the headache of finding day care and then if one day they have to work longer they always have to consider getting to the daycare to pick their kids up, on time! Building a nursery for not only her child, but for the children of her employees would have been just as great of an idea.

In addition to that she just seems cold and not like someone who wants to really help women. Moreover, from watching the news I was shocked to learn that this type of behavior from women in the corporate world is commonplace. This makes me worry about what lies ahead for me and for the thousands of other women who are seeking a place at the top.

I’m glad Yahoo! is getting its act together, but, will others follow?

Questions or Comments? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

