Today is my first day of work at my internship and I’m nervous! As you may or may not know, I am a college student who graduates next May, so this is my last summer to intern before I hopefully land myself a J-O-B. The only this is, I’m terribly nervous and a little bit sad.

Let’s start with the sadness; since school ended I have spent every waking moment with my daughter and I’m going to miss not seeing her everyday all day. Even when I dead tired at 5 in the morning and she wants to stay up, I’m happy (somewhat) to stay up with her and play. Having to be gone all day is definitely going to be a tough change; but, a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do.

I am nervous because although I know I am a hard worker and I love working for the company, I wonder if last summer when I was interning I got extra brownie points for being pregnant. I know it sounds weird, but people seem to be extra nice to pregnant people, so what if I actually did a terrible on my work and my bosses just said “ahh she’s preggers, let her slide.” Ok, that probably didn’t happen; maybe I’m just super anxious because a job offer is on the line, so anxious that I can’t sleep. I mean, this is a great opportunity and what better way to go into my senior year with a child than with a job? ..but enough of that, I’m just working myself up, I’ll just hope that it’s more of the latter and less of the former.

Here’s to a great summer, hard work, a lot of learning, a lot of fun, and to my future!

Leave a Reply

