g9510.20_Childfree.Cover

Last week when I was on vacation in Myrtle Beach I couldn’t help but to notice all of the couples lounging around on the beach basking in all of their childless glory with their glasses of wine or beer planted next to their beach chairs. As I toted my own child around along with her toys, bottles, sunscreen, formula, cereal, and shoes I tried to remember the days of vacation before Peyton. This got me thinking about why some couples choose not to have children.

Without ever really thinking about it, I just assumed that all women wanted children and would eventually be mothers; I mean, it’s only natural, right? Women are supposed to grow up, get married, and have kids….but, that’s not everyone’s reality.

Kids are a lot of work; they need a lot of your time, love, attention, money, etc. I love my child to death but, I can definitely understand why someone who loves their freedom would not want to have kids. The choice not to have children is becoming a growing trend in this country. Maybe the recession has caused people to tighten up their spending, which could mean that there isn’t much left in the budget for the added expenses of a child.

However, because childless families are a growing trend what does that mean for the future? An article in Time Magazine described couples that opted against having children as selfish for contributing to the reduction in the future’s population. The economy depends on people to pay taxes and spend money in order to function. Thus, more people=more money. Therefore,  with less babies are born, could the country be headed for another crisis?

On the other hand, having children and a career, or any other significant obligation, is quite the juggling act. Some of the most successful women who I’ve spoken with either had children late or not at all, or they had to choose to put more focus on their job and just hope that their children could one day understand. Of course, I’m not saying that you can’t be successful in your career and be a great parent at the same time, but it is hard and some women just can’t or don’t want to do it.

Children are a life changing decision. It is very important to weigh the gains and losses and the pros and cons and truly decide what’s best for you and your future.

Thoughts? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

