image
The finished product

Most people who know me know that I don’t like to cook. I have very limited knowledge of recipes and how to put food together outside of my surefire spaghetti dish and box macaroni and that’s just fine with me. However, to others it’s quite displeasing, namely Lance. I’ve heard numerous complaints about how I need to broaden my horizons, take some lessons from this person or that person on how to make this or that, etc., but until now all gripes have fallen on deaf ears.

Finally last week I tried my hand at some new recipes. For today I’m posting my favorite recipe of last week.

I found myself sitting in my management class craving Chinese and focusing more on finding a recipe for homemade General Tso’s than listening to the presentation of how Wal-Mart became the powerhouse that it is. While for some of you Wal-Mart’s rise to big box retailer may be highly interesting, I was more focused on the bomb Asian fare I was going to make that night.

After class I quickly scooted over to Giant and picked up some supplies, only my phone, which contained the recipe, died so I had to kind of guess. I was wrong at some of my ingredients, but for the most part I got what I needed. All of my changes/notes are in italics.

Here’s what I used..

Chicken Marinade

  • 1 1/2 tsp sesame oil (I forgot the sesame oil)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 lb of tenderloins (they’re easier to cut–you can use any boneless, skinless chicken though)

Chop chicken and mix together all ingredients ensuring that the chicken is completely coated. Then let it sit for 20 minutes, covered or uncovered.

General Tso’s Sauce

  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp Vietnamese chili-garlic paste (found in the Asian aisle of your grocery store) (I confused this with roasted chili paste. It still tasted good)
  • 3 Tbsp sugar (I used brown sugar)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch

**I used flower to thicken the sauce

In a separate small mixing bowl, whisk together sauce ingredients.

  • 2 Tbsp ginger, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Cook in a little bit of oil for 1-2 minute

s then add in the rest of the sauce mixture above. Mix until sauce thickens, if necessary, add a bit of flour to help it along.

On Cooking the Coated Chicken

In a large, deep skillet, heat 1/2 inch of canola oil until bubbly. Add chicken, one piece at a time (you may have to cook this in 2 batches), and fry over high heat, turning once or twice until brown and crispy, about 4 minutes. Drain chicken on a plate lined with paper towels. Then immediately add chicken to sauce, along with scallions. Cook until just coated, about 30 seconds. Serve with steamed broccoli and rice.

I did a second coating of flour and fried in vegetable oil. After chicken was fried I added it to the sauce.

To Top It Off

  • 4 scallions, thinly sliced
  • brown rice and steamed broccoli

I made a few changes to the original post which called for sautéed chicken, we deep fried ours instead for crispier chicken and we got a little lazy when it came to chopping the ginger, so the pieces were slightly larger, and we used Basmati rice. I must say that this was a great recipe that was very easy to prepare and it turned out very well. I even had it for leftovers two days later. A great thing about not chopping the ginger all the way is that you get that burst of flavor that adds a little something extra to the chicken.

We had a little accident with the oil falling on the gas stove (bottom right)
We had a little accident with the oil falling on the gas stove (bottom right) I promise my stove doesn’t usually look like that!

 

Leave a Reply

