Recently, I decided to move our mirror into our bedroom and lean it next to the bed since I was too lazy to take the time to hang it on the wall. Since I did this about a week ago, I’ve noticed Peyton staring at herself.

Just yesterday, she woke up from her nap and immediately rolled over to stare at the mirror. She’s fascinated with it and will even climb off the bed to kneel in front of it. I’m not sure if this is cause for concern or not; but I remember when she was younger overhearing her aunt scold her child for putting a mirror up to Peyton’s face. This is not to say that I believe in superstition, because honestly all I’m worried about is her being a little vain, but this has me wondering what people are saying about babies and mirrors.

Peyton’s aunt on her dad’s side is Caribbean, so I did a little searching (although, I’m sure I could easily just ask her) and found that Caribbeans believe that allowing a baby to look in a mirror may cause them to see their shadow, which supposedly is frowned upon or a ghost may follow them home.

According to Jewish Minhag Nashim Zekeinos or wives’ tales, babies should not look into mirrors before their teeth come in because they could delay their tooth or speech development.

Other posters on this topic have said that looking into a mirror can cause the mirror to take their soul.

This all seems to be something out of Skeleton Key, which I found to be mildly amusing. Maybe it was Kate Hudson‘s acting, or phony-seeming scenes, or maybe it was just the entire movie in general. Either way, I think that Peyton looking in the mirror borders on narcissism rather than anything else, I’m not happy about that, but it’s much more preferred than the thought of her soul being stole-yikes!

Any crazy myths you’ve heard?

Leave a Reply

